Bend

When my first nephew was born, songs just started pouring out.  Even though he wasn’t my child there was something about getting to see and know the world through fresh eyes again that made me not only fall in love with him, but also with the world again.  One night while in the room next to his I started thinking about how complicated the life has gotten and a feeling of fear crept in.  A need to protect and shelter him arose in me and and soon after I wrote this song.   I have always found the Willow tree to have a soothing presence, the way it bends and surrenders and relaxes into gravity, the way that when you sit under its branches they create a kind of fort or sanctuary for you.  A neat little tidbit about the tree is that if you scratch on a twig and taste it it leaves with you a similar pungent and somewhat bitter taste that leaving an aspirin in your mouth does, This is because it has in it Salicylic Acid which modern Medicine has adapted to make Acetylsalicylic acid, yes aspirin!  So it soothes in many ways…

Leave a comment